Eleven Valley Schools Nominated For National Blue Ribbon Honors

Eleven South Texas schools were among the 26 schools nominated by The Texas Education Agency for national 2018 Blue Ribbon Schools recognition. The schools will compete against schools from other states for the national honor to be announced in September of this year.

Founded in 1982, Blue Ribbon Schools is a U.S. Department of Education program that recognizes public and private elementary, middle and high schools in two divisions. The first is Exemplary High-Performing Schools where students perform at very high levels. The second is Exemplary Achievement-Gap-Closing Schools where exemplary progress has been made toward closing achievement gaps among subpopulations while maintaining high achievement levels among all students.

The nominated Exemplary High-Performing Schools from South Texas for 2018 include: La Joya ISD – Jimmy Carter Early College High School; Mercedes ISD – Mercedes Early College High School; and Valley View ISD (2) – Valley View Elementary School and Valley View South Elementary School.

The nominated Exemplary Achievement-Gap-Closing Schools from South Texas for 2018 include; Edinburg CISD (2) – Anne L. Magee Elementary School and Hargill Elementary School; Harlingen CISD – Dishman Elementary School; Hidalgo ISD – J.C Kelly Elementary School; IDEA Public Schools – IDEA Mission Academy (Mission); and Pharr-San Juan-Alamo ISD (2) – Carmen Anaya Elementary School and Cesar Chavez Elementary School.

This is the third year in a row that two Edinburg Consolidated Independent School District campuses have been nominated for National Blue Ribbon School Honors.

“We are very excited that two more of our exemplary schools have been nominated as National Blue Ribbon Schools. These two additional campuses bring the total to six nominations for Edinburg CISD of which four have already been selected for this highly prestigious award,” said ECISD Superintendent Dr. René Gutiérrez. “I thank all of our students, parents, teachers, principals, and staff for their hard work and dedication to our outstanding academic programs.”

Last year, TEA nominated Edinburg CISD’s Austin Elementary School and Jefferson Elementary School for national 2017 Blue Ribbon Schools recognition. In September 2017, the U.S. Department of Education announced that both Edinburg schools were named 2017 National Blue Ribbon Schools.

In January 2016, TEA nominated ECISD’s Canterbury Elementary School and Trevino Elementary School for national 2016 Blue Ribbon Schools recognition. Later that year, the U.S. Department of Education announced that both Edinburg schools were also named 2016 National Blue Ribbon Schools.

“Both Anaya and Chavez Elementary have consistently excelled over the years in both academia and extracurricular activities,” said Dr. Daniel King, PSJA ISD Superintendent of Schools. “Campus leadership, faculty and staff at both locations have become great examples of what working as a team toward a common goal can help you accomplish. We commend them for this nomination and support them as they work to receive the award.”

Carmen Anaya Elementary and Cesar Chavez Elementary are both in south Pharr.

Each nominated school has an economically disadvantaged population of 39 percent or greater. The nominated schools must now complete a rigorous application process through the U.S. Department of Education. Announcements of the national award winners will be made in September 2018.  Schools that receive the award are recognized at the Blue Ribbon Schools awards ceremony in Washington, D.C.

Founded in 1982, the National Blue Ribbon Schools Program recognizes public and private elementary, middle, and high schools where students perform at very high levels or where significant improvements are being made in students’ academic achievement. A National Blue Ribbon Schools flag overhead has become a mark of excellence in education recognized by everyone from parents to policy-makers in thousands of communities. Since the program’s founding, the U. S. Department of Education has bestowed this coveted award on more than 7,000 of America’s schools.

Public and non-public elementary, middle, and high schools can be awarded National Blue Ribbon status. This includes charter, magnet, choice, and schools with religious affiliations.

Show More

Related Articles

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *