Governor Abbott Attends Dallas Police Department Awards Ceremony

AUSTIN – Governor Greg Abbott today attended and delivered remarks at an awards ceremony in Dallas, Texas, hosted by the Dallas Police Department. The Governor presented officers with awards recognizing them for their service to Texas communities during and after Hurricane Harvey.

“Harvey was one of the worst disasters our state has ever faced. And yet, as the storm raged, you put your lives on the line to rescue your fellow Texans,” said Governor Abbott. “Texas is a safer place because of the sacrifices of men and women like you. You have not only our enduring gratitude ─ you have our support. And I promise you this, you have a Governor who will always have your back.”

The 20 officers who received an award are current members of the Texas National Guard and Texas Air National Guard who were activated during and after Hurricane Harvey.

The officers honored included:

  • Senior Corporal Nicholas Smith #9881
  • Senior Corporal Scott Brust #10138
  • Senior Corporal Ernesto Elizondo #9502
  • Sergeant Gregory Conn #9932
  • Police Officer Cindy Armstrong #10718
  • Police Officer Chazz Morrison #10943
  • Police Officer Richard Cox #11174
  • Police Officer Jesse Philips #9448
  • Police Officer Thomas Hartmann #10073
  • Police Officer Veronica Garcia #10497
  • Police Officer James Vanarsdall #10577
  • Police Officer Natalie Vess #11078
  • Police Officer Daniel Kim #10987
  • Police Officer Johnathan McMillion #7758
  • Police Officer Andrew Cyr #10312
  • Police Officer Steven Miller #9558
  • Police Officer Sugeny Genao #11178
  • Police Officer Michael Long #10876
  • Police Officer Bradley Hanlon #9879
  • Police Officer Steven Gomez #10297
Show More

Related Articles

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *